grain_icon  Species |  Rice |  Maize |  Wheat |  Barley |  Oats |  Foxtail Millet |  Pearl Millet |  Rye |  Sorghum |  Wild Rice |  Brachypodium |  Oryza Species |  Grape |  Arabidopsis

Triticum Taxonomy

grain_icon Wheat Intro |  Facts |  Anatomy |  Taxonomy |  Agronomic Statistics |  Research |  Education |  Nutrition  |  Recipes |  News |  Germplasm Resources |  Gramene Statistics |  Gramene Queries

Wheat belongs to the genus Triticum, for which there are 10 species, six which are cultivated and four which are not. The most economically important species, T. aestivum, has five subspecies (18, 19).

Common wheat, sp.
Kingdom: Plantae - Plants
Subkingdom: Tracheobionta - Vascular plants
Superdivision: Spermatophyta - Seed plants
Division: Magnoliophyta - Flowering plants
Class: Liliopsida - Monocotyledons
Subclass: Commelinidae
Order: Cyperales
Family: Poaceae - Grass family
Genus: Triticum - wheat
Species: Triticum aestivum - common wheat

There are many taxonomic classification systems used for wheat species, which causes confusion and controversy between researchers (1, 14). For instance, one area of controversy is in genus classification. Some people classify it as one large genus (Triticum sensu lato), while others classify wheat as two separate genera (Triticum and Aegilops). There are several sources on this issue. See also: